The 29th Magnetic Recording Conference(TMRC)
August 8-10, 2018

The 29th The Magnetic Recording Conference (TMRC 2018) will be held on August 8-10, 2018 at the Western Digital Milpitas Campus, located at 951 Sandisk Drive in Milpitas, CA. The focus of TMRC 2018 is “novel materials, devices and technologies for magnetic data storage and advanced applications.” Approximately 36 invited papers of the highest quality will be presented orally at the conference and will later be published in the IEEE Transactions on Magnetics. Poster sessions will also be held following the oral sessions and will feature posters from the invited speakers and accepted contributed posters. Both invited and contributed papers are encouraged for publication.

Topics of interest include:

  • Advanced Magnetic Recording for > 2 Tbits/in2 (Readers, Writers, Servo, Tribology, HDI, Signal Processing)
  • Heat Assisted Magnetic Recording (HAMR System, Head/Media and HDI)
  • Microwave-Assisted Magnetic Recording (MAMR)
  • Alternative Magnetic Recording Technologies (SMR, TDMR, HIMR, Heated-dot, Tape, All Optical Switching)
  • Spin Transfer Torque-Magnetic Random Access Memory (MTJ cell, MRAM chip, manufacturing and roadmap)
  • MRAM & Magnetic Logic – New Physics & Materials (MRAM architecture, VCMRAM, SOT-MRAM, TI & 2D materials)
  • Fundamentals (Metrology, Tooling, Materials, Recording Physics)

Important Information:

2018 TMRC is officially live and ready to begin taking registrations.Please proceed to the registration site here.

 

 

 

Conference chair
Kumar Srinivasan
Western Digital
kumar.srinivasan@wdc.com

 

Program co-chairs
Ganping Ju
Seagate Technology
ganping.a.ju@seagate.com

 

Christian Kaiser
Western Digital
christian.kaiser@wdc.com

 

Goran Mihajlovic
Western Digital
goran.mihajlovic@wdc.com

 

Yuchen Zhou
yuchen_zhou@hotmail.com

 

Poster co-chairs
Michael Alex
Western Digital
michael.alex@wdc.com

 

Fatih Erden
Seagate Technology
fatih.erden@seagate.com

 

Local co-chairs
Vitaliy Lomakin
UC San Diego
vlomakin@eng.ucsd.edu

 

Daniel Lottis
Western Digital
daniel.lottis@wdc.com

 

Publication co-chairs
Simon Greaves
Tohoku University
simon@riec.tohoku.ac.jp


Yuepeng Zhang
Argonne National Laboratory

yuepeng@anl.gov

 

Publicity chair
Tiffany Santos
Western Digital
tiffany.santos@wdc.com

 

Treasurer
Chris Rea
Seagate Technology
chris.j.rea@seagate.com